A Rare Treat: Oysters Rockefeller

Oysterstreat (1)

This is Oysters Rockefeller at Bentley’s Sea Grill in Harrods. I don’t do this kind of thing very often. I can’t afford too. To give you an idea of how rare, the last time was here at the Grand Central Railway terminal in New York City in March 2011.

Oysterstreat (x)

The stream of stunning plates of everything coming out of the kitchen in this place rocked me on my heels. It was recommended to me by my good friend and native New Yorker Chef Terri. Here’s a lesson for you. Always listen to people with local knowledge. I didn’t get around to visiting this wonderful place until my last day. Big mistake. If only I had been here earlier in the week because I would have eaten here every day!

However, that’s an aside. On this day it was London and I was here.

Oysterstreat (2)

Oysterstreat (3)

This rare treat was Oysters Rockefeller at Bentley’s Sea Grill in Harrods. Of course Bentley’s long history of seafood cuisine is impeccable and in the safe hands of Richard Corrigan it will, no doubt, continue that way for the foreseeable future. I had to wait a while as the que was quite long but that helps build the anticipation. I really like this kind of thing. In my life it is a brief moment of undiluted happiness. I love the atmosphere, the sophistication, the marble tops, the attention from highly capable Matre de, the starched napkins. All of it. Unfortunately though it is over all too soon before I’m back on the streets.

Normally, this is how it works for me. I will be out and about doing my thing and see something like this.

Oysterstreat (7)

Or I will see something like this.

Oysterstreat (8)

Well, you have to buy don’t you? It simply wouldn’t be right not too would it?

But here’s the thing. Much as I love an excursion to a wonderful place like Bentley’s, the fact is in many ways I prefer these market bought ones. Much as I try I really can’t explain why.

But having said all of that the oysters I probably appreciate the most are those I have as a light, modest, little snack at home to break up a wet and dull winters day doing essential chores.

Oysterstreat (9)

3 thoughts on “A Rare Treat: Oysters Rockefeller

  1. I saw you had left a comment on another blog saying you are heading to Málaga in February. You are going to LOVE food in the tapas bars there, Mike.

    You’re in for a real treat!

Leave a Reply

